Power over Circumstances

I understand that my life is about being able to show people that we can rise above negative circumstances through the power of a positive attitude. Once upon a time, I was going down the wrong road, going in the wrong direction because I was on a trip of self-pity and self-destruction when I decided I did not want to go where that road was leading me.

I told myself, that yes life had given me a raw deal, but I did not have to accept that as the final answer. I decided I would not allow circumstances to have power over me, the power to decide what choices I could make, what I could do and become. I woke up and saw the beautiful truth that where I started in life did not determine where and how far I could go in life.

I did not want to be a victim of circumstances; I vowed to empower myself to conquer them and rise higher than a bird in flight. This has been the meaning of my life and has been the fuel to keep me going, when so often I felt that I would give out.

I say this to say when you feel like giving up, when you feel you cannot go on, reach deep inside yourself to find that extra strength you need because it is there. Find a reason for it all. There is a reason for the madness, the sorrow, and the pain. It’s only so you can look within your own soul where all power exists for you to overcome.

Leave a Reply

